It’s been three years since Shabazz Palaces released Lese Majesty. The tandem decided to return with a bang by dropping two new albums. Palaceer Lazaro (aka Butterfly of Digable Planets) and Tendai “Baba” Maraire are back with two conceptual works titled Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star and Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines.
Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star is an 11-track LP that “continues the tale of Quazars, a sentient being from somewhere else, an observer sent here to Amurderca to chronicle and explore as a musical emissary.” Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines expands the Quazars universe by following a “wave warrior wielding his sonic sword.”
View the streams, cover art and tracklists for both Shabazz Palaces albums below.

Shabazz Palaces Release Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star

1. Since C.A.Y.A.
2. When Cats Claw
3. Shine a Light f. Thaddillac
4. Dèesse Du Sang
5. Eel Dreams f. Loud Eyes Lou
6. Parallax f. The Palaceer Lazaro
7. Fine Ass Hairdresser
8. The Neurochem Mixalogue
9. That’s How City Life Goes
10. Moon Whip Quäz f. Darrius
11. Federalist Papers

Shabazz Palaces Drops Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines

(This article has been updated. It was originally published on May 9, 2017).
Following the announcement of their upcoming Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star album dropping July 14, Shabazz Palaces says a second album titled Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines will release on the same day through label Sub Pop.
Both projects will be the duo’s first full body of work since 2014’s Lese Majesty which featured popular track “Forerunner Foray.”
The conceptual albums from the Seattle experimental group reportedly tell the of a “sentient being from somewhere else” and Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines “finds our protagonist with his dazzling cohorts rising a collective Nah to the device and the guilds that proliferate them.” Expect guest appearances from Thundercat, Gamble and Huff among others.
It’s also worth noting that  Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines features a track titled “Love in the time of Kanye” (featuring Purple Tape Nate) that could likely induce some conversation courtesy of its big name subject.
Cartoonist Joshua Ray Stephens will illustrate a limited-edition book based on Quazars vs. The Jealous Machines. According to reports, the 32-page book is slated to drop August 18.
Watch the video for “Shine A Light” featuring Thaddillac below.

Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines Tracklisting
01 Welcome to Quazarz
02 Gorgeous Sleeper Cell
03 Self-MadeFollownaire
04 Atlaantis
05 Effeminence [ft. Fly Guy Dai of Chimurenga Renaissance]
06 Julian’s Dream (ode to a bad) [ft. The Shogun Shot]
07 30 Clip Extension
08 Love in the time of Kanye [ft. Purple Tape Nate]
09 Sabonim in the Saab on ‘em
10 The SS Quintessence
11 Late night phone calls [ft. Laz]
12 Quazarz on 23rd